Suck it up and go bowling

The funny thing about this disease or virus, whatever is going on in my body, is that sometimes I’m able to get through my entire day feeling almost normal (or what I guess I’ve come to accept as normal). But then I hit a wall. I just collapse from exhaustion.

With New Year’s Eve, I tried my best to be “normal” and put on my happy face; but I didn’t choose the best venue for my situation. We decided to celebrate in a family friendly atmosphere with another family from church. New Year’s Eve bowling! Pizza, soda, snacks, noise makers, music and three hours of bowling! What on earth was I thinking?! When you go bowling with adults, it’s much different that bowling with kids. There’s no graceful shuffle to the line with a smooth release of the ball . . . . oh no. Children have a tendency to throw the ball high up in the air, and it comes crashing down onto the lane like a meteor crashing into the earth. My heart fell to my stomach every time of the kids took their turn. My head was throbbing, my muscle twitches were kicking into high gear and my aches and pains were really starting to kick in.

Then, they handed out the noise makers! Oh joy! I just had to chuckle. But that wasn’t even the worst part. The kids took a (well needed) break from bowling for a few minutes and played in the arcade. Of course they won prizes and were very excited to show them off. Prizes included, stickers, tattoos, gum balls and LASERS! So, now I had crashing bowling balls in the background, noise makers being blown in my face and bright laser lights being shined in my eyes. Really? And again, this was my suggestion. I think I need some neurological testing before any more Lyme testing!

When all was said and done, it was a really great night. The kids had an awesome time, my hubby and I got a chance to enjoy some fellowship and I realized that I’m even tougher than I thought I was. Granted, I couldn’t speak a word on the way home, climbed upstairs into a detox bath and didn’t more for at least a half hour; but I survived. And I will survive this crazy journey and so will all of you that are suffering too. Whatever your diagnosis, situation or trial . . .  all things work together for good.

Romans 8:28

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

Leave a Reply

