Controlling your hardships, instead of letting them control you.

Nor has the eye seen any God besides You, who acts for the one who waits for Him.—Isaiah 64:4
I know it is hard to imagine sometimes what God is up to in your life. You see a blank canvas, but God sees a finished painting. You see a piece of coal, but God sees a refined diamond. You see an untalented person, but God sees a mighty man or woman of God.

When I was pregnant with the triplets I used to say to hubby, “God must think we’re really doing a good job with Michael to give us three at once!” It helped me to stay positive and not stress over how we were going to handle our new normal. Same with the Autism diagnosis . . .  God only gives those children to the parents who can handle it. So, I knew that if God thought I could handle it, then he was right.

That’s not to say that it’s easy! But I know that He’s got my back. I’ll never forget one particularly rough day. I ran upstairs into my bedroom, closed the door and and just fell on the bed and sobbed. I cried out to God, “I can’t do this! I can’t do this! I need help!” Never in a million years would I have imagined what happened next. It was my first encounter with the Holy Spirit. I can only explain it by saying that God gave me a giant hug! I literally felt him hold me. Immediately I had an overwhelming sense of calmness. I had never felt anything like it before and have never felt it since then. I have no idea how long it lasted, but as it started to go away, I cried, “Don’t leave! Not yet!” and the feeling came back. A few minutes later it disappeared. I went downstairs and a neighbor reached out to me saying that her teenage daughter had just finished babysitting courses and wanted to know if she could come over some time and help me with the triplets. I couldn’t believe it. My prayers were answered immediately. It’s funny, because it’s not the answer I was expecting or looking for . . . but it was what I needed.

I “borrowed” this from Greg Laurie this week: God specializes in making something out of nothing. I wonder what He is doing with you right now? You are a work in progress, and He isn’t finished yet. If you are still alive and reading this, God has more work to do in your life! Most artists usually don’t like someone looking over their shoulders, trying to second-guess what they’re about to do. “Wait until I am done,” they will say, “and then you will see.”  So trust in the Lord during those times when it is hard to see what He is doing. Don’t allow the hardships you face to make you a bitter person. It’s time to let go of that. Rather, allow them to make you a better person.

I don’t know about you, but that’s something I have to focus on. I can’t let my hardships overcome who I am, rather help me to become the person God knows I can be.

Leave a Reply

