Are you plugged in?

125
We plug in our cell phones, our laptops, our iPads . . . all of the gadgets that we need for everyday life. But what do we plug ourselves into? What is our outlet? Some of us have outlets for stress. I know mine used to be kickboxing. My husband’s was jiu jitsu. The harder I kicked and punched, the better I felt. I guess he got his aggression out by choking people. On paper we sound like a very violent family, but in fact it’s quite the opposite, I promise. You’d never know it from that description, but we’re quite a loving family!

I’m having a super Lymie week. As i sit here and type, my skin feels like its burning, my head is throbbing with a migraine, my legs are aching like I just ran my first 5K and I’m so tired, I struggle to keep my burning eyes open. I don’t say that to complain, but to paint a picture. We went to church last night, because we’re trying to cram in as many Wednesday night services as we can before school starts back up again. We would go to church seven nights a week if we could! We absolutely love our church, the people, the missions, everything! We missed last week, because I was feeling so crappy, but this week I pushed myself . . . I needed to get my fill, or as our friend says, “Get my G.O.D on!”

We settled into our seats and as the music started, I realized it wasn’t going to be the night I had hoped for. I tried to convince myself that I could do this. My love for the Lord was stronger than the pain of my migraine. But with each note sung, I cringed in pain. Eventually, I had to get up and walk out into the hallway. I stayed there until worship was over and the pastor started the bible study. Even during his study, I had to excuse myself once again to take my pain medicine. The pain was unbearable. I sat with my head on hubby’s big shoulders, eye’s closed, not even able to lift my bible.

Before I came back in, a friend of mine (co-lymie) came to check on me. She could tell by the look on my face when I walked out, that something was wrong. I was so upset that Lyme was “winning.” It was taking me away from worshipping God of all things! She warned me that the enemy would try to use Lyme to pull me from everyone in my life, including the Lord.  We chatted for a bit, said a quick prayer and then walked back in.

At the end of the bible study Pastor Harry did a specific alter call. He asked anyone who was sick to come up front so the entire church could pray for them. Several people walked forward. Hubby nudged me, but I didn’t move. There are others that are “really” sick that need prayer, I thought to myself . . . . I’m fine. Then Pastor Harry looked at me, smiled and said, “Lisa, come on up here.”

As  I made my way up to the stage, tears ran down my face as my fellow Christians held my hand and prayed for me and those around me. Tonight the enemy would not win. Lyme would not win. I may not have learned much about the book of Revelations or got my G.O.D. on like I wanted to, but my battery . . .  my spirit . . .  was charged. I was covered in prayer by so many people. I left last night feeling so blessed and thanking God for so many things, including Lyme. That’s the kind of outlet we need. Not letting off steam at the gym after work, or finding a hobby to de-stress. We need to get plugged in at church, with people that will draw you near to the Lord and strengthen your walk not get you obsessed with something that will tear you away from Him.

2 Corinthians 6:14-18 

14 Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness? 15 What harmony is there between Christ and Belial[a]? Or what does a believer have in common with an unbeliever? 16 What agreement is there between the temple of God and idols? For we are the temple of the living God. As God has said:

“I will live with them
    and walk among them,
and I will be their God,
    and they will be my people.”

17 Therefore,

“Come out from them
    and be separate,
says the Lord.
Touch no unclean thing,
    and I will receive you.”

18 And,

“I will be a Father to you,
    and you will be my sons and daughters,
says the Lord Almighty.”

Leave a Reply

