What do you see when you look up?

isaiah-41_10

During my morning commute I always try make time to pray and focus on the beauty of the sky, (instead allowing myself to become obsessed by the traffic). As I sit in the car and look at this beautiful earth, I realize how much I take this world for granted. But other times, I sit in awe as I look up at the sky and ponder the fact that the same God that created the sky, the clouds, the trees, the sunset . . . is the same God that loves and cares for me. It’s mind blowing.

The last few days, I’ve been paying close attention to the sky. When I left this morning it was super foggy, so I didn’t expect to see much. To my surprise as I looked up, I saw something pop through the soupy fog. Was it the moon? It looked like a full moon, but seemed odd that I would see the moon on such a foggy morning. Before I could catch another glimpse and try to figure out what it was, it was gone.

Then a few minutes later, it popped through again. This time shining a bit through the fog. To my surprised, I realized it was the sun. Usually so bright, that you can’t look at it straight on, this particular morning it was just barely peaking through the clouds and fog. So much so that I didn’t even realize what it was or that it was even there.

It was like Jesus reminding me that no matter how foggy the trials of my life can be, He is always there. Sometimes it is blazingly obvious that He’s there. Other times, I forget and it seems like He’s nowhere to be found . . . until I realized that all I have to do is look up. He’s there. He’s always there.

So, don’t let the weekend go by without looking up and thanking God for what you have and taking a moment to admire His creation. Also know that whatever you are going through, you are not alone. You have ME and better than that . . .  you have the creator of heaven and earth on your side.

Isaiah 41:10 

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

2 thoughts on “What do you see when you look up?

  1. Thank you very much for a powerful image. You’ve given me something new to think about… no matter how cloudy or dark my personal “sky” might be, Jesus is always there, shining down on me. For me, there’s a lot of comfort in that image. Cheerio

Leave a Reply

