What color is your spot today?

Eph_2-10_Image

I may have mentioned once or twice my very long, very boring daily commute. If I have, then it’s worth mentioning again . . . it’s very long and very boring. So, I have all the time in the world to reflect on my day, my life, my trials, my trials, my trials – did I mention my trials? With that said, I usually try to focus on the sky (yes, while I’m driving). It’s a pretty open road, out in the middle of nowhere and I noticed that if I keep my eyes on the skyline, I seem to have a positive/thankful attitude. I often find myself in awe of this majestic world that God has created, instead of stressing about the situation I’m about to walk into (whether home or work).

Today I noticed that the sky looked like a giant layered cake! There were clouds as far as my eyes could see and they looked like small thin layers on top of each other. One really dark layer, then another a little lighter, then in the next you could almost see the sun trying to pop through -but not quite. It was a visual reminder of my life.

Life will never just be one layer or one shade, rather it comes in a variety of shades. You’ve got some really, dark days during those difficult times. Bright shiny days during those stress free days – but no many how many different layers and shades there are in your life, when you take a few steps back and look at it from a far, you realize it’s a beautiful piece of art. A breath-taking canvas that God has personally created just for you.

When you’re right in the midst of those dark trials, it may just seem like a bunch of black paint on a page, but once you look past that, you can see the beauty of it all. You realize that black is actually just a combination of a bunch of other beautiful colors. Don’t focus so much on those dark smudges, because remember he washes us pure as white. There are no black smudges when He looks at us.

So, let’s stop dwelling on the dark trials and start thanking our creator for our own individual masterpieces. Can you imagine a piece of art without color? No – of course not! Now let’s try to think of your trials as various colors that are adding to the artwork that is your life. Without those colors, you would have a boring blank canvas. And that’s no way to live life.

Ephesians 2:10

For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

Leave a Reply

