Lyme is no opponent for Wonder Woman and her force field!

82478383-1

It’s been quite some time since I last posted. I’ve been struggling with what to say and trying to tie it into some sort of biblical life lesson, when all I wanted to do was just live my life. Every time I thought about writing, I felt like time was better spend with the kids or hubby or working. But I feel like it’s my calling to write and I know that Lyme, Autism and Alzheimers are issues that millions of people face everyday and I need to continue to share my journey, whether good, bad, inspirational or even boring!

So, the reason I chose today to start writing again is because I started a new Lyme treatment this morning. I’ve been off my meds for a week (trying to give my liver a break – normal ALT levels range from 7 to 55 units per liter – mine was 107). Needless to say, taking antibiotics for over a year tends to take a toll on your body. It was a beautiful thing not having to chug over 20 pills every morning while getting the kids off to school.

Unfortunately, break time is over. I didn’t have to take nearly as many pills as I was used to taking – but I did have to take three antibiotics at once. This petrifies me. The last time we tried this, I landed in bed with intense migraines and excruciating pain from head to toe. We gave up and cut back to two antibiotics.

One of the reasons Lyme is so difficult to treat is because the bacteria and their co-infections have the ability to hide under a gooey sticky covering called a biofilm. When you think you’ve killed them all off, you find out they were just hiding out in this biofilm long enough for you to think they’re dead and gone, then they re-emerge and re-infect you all over again. It’s a vicious cycle.  Most medications and herbs have a difficult time penetrating this shield, which is why Lyme is so incredibly difficult to treat. My doctor’s plan this time is to use this triple threat of antibiotics to get through the Lyme force field.

I’ve been doing much better these past few months. So, I was actually thinking that at my last doctor visit he would tell me to stop all meds, continue the vitamins & supplements and basically suck it up – because this is as good as it gets. But to my surprise he’s going full speed ahead. Maybe this will be the one? Maybe this triplet threat will actually kill the lyme once and for all?

Maybe. . . . maybe not. But either way I keep chugging along. As we finish up our taxes, it becomes very real how much Lyme has affected not only my body and my ability to function as a wife, mom and marketing manager — it has also put us deeper into debt than I thought was possible. But I know that somehow God will provide . . . not only financially but emotionally. He will provide the strength I need to get through these next few weeks — that (if the medication works) should be very intense. But just like Lyme has their sticky biofilm to protect them, I have the biggest, toughest force field of all . . .  Jesus! He will protect me from anything this world can throw my way. I just have to remember to ask for help 🙂

Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.

—Ephesians 3:20

4 thoughts on “Lyme is no opponent for Wonder Woman and her force field!

Leave a Reply

