Running the Lyme Race

5514fb8147aa635e7150c84634c09cd8

I walked into the Cherry Hill Clinic yesterday and before I could even see anyone, I heard, “Lisa, sit down and talk to me about what’s going on.” Dr. Molly wanted to hear all about my week before she blended my IV bag (aka my Lyme Juice).  She already knew about my fatigue, but I also shared with her my brain fog issues, back/neck pain, as well as the new joint pain. “You’re going to feel great when I’m finished with you today!” she says.

Any of my fellow Lymies will agree with me, that when someone makes a statement like that, you’re a bit skeptical. I haven’t felt great in two years . . . . we’ll see. So, I sat and chatted with other patients about what bring us to the Cherry Hill Clinic as my body was filled with Dr. Molly’s special Lyme Juice.

I texted my husband and asked him what he thought about going on a family jog later that night. He was skeptical. I always have good intentions . . . but that’s usually all they are – intentions. But I don’t know if it was that second cup of coffee or the Lyme Juice, but all of a sudden around 3:00 pm I was overcome with energy. I flew through my work at the office, actually turned the radio up pretty loud in the car (it’s usually on super quiet because of the constant headaches) and sang along to my favorite songs on the way home.

When I got into the house, I ran right up to hubby, gave him a hug and kiss, then started launching roundhouse kicks at him. Roundhouse kicks are the true tell-tale sign that I’m feeling better! I’m a kickboxer! After dinner, I bounced on the trampoline with the kids for awhile (sticking my back tucks every time, I might add!) and then we did it . . .  we went for a family jog!

It was amazing! I actually out-ran my daughter and could keep up pretty well with one of the boys who was riding his bike! We raced home and I spent the rest of the night hanging with hubby. As we laid in bed, tears started to stream down my face. Feeling healthy, having energy again . . .  it was such a foreign concept and all of a sudden, I realized how much I had missed it! It felt so good to be me again!

God has done such amazing work in me over the years. Not only has he led me to a clinic that is actually healing me, he has changed my heart in the process. I’ve gone from being a scale-obsessed woman, who constantly whined about how much weight she’d gained, to someone who is finally comfortable in her own skin – I’ve put the scale away, for good.

I thought when I got healthy, my goal would be to go backward. Do my old workouts, fit into my old clothes, get back to my old size . . .  but that’s not who I am. I am a new woman in Christ and plan to move forward – NOT BACKWARDS.

Hebrews 12:1-2
1Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

As long as we move forward, keeping our eyes on HIM, keeping stride with HIM and getting rid of everything else – we will win the ultimate prize! Eternal life with our creator 🙂

4 thoughts on “Running the Lyme Race

Leave a Reply

