Will you take the easy route?

On my way to the Cherry Hill Clinic last week, I was feeling a little bit guilty about whining so much in my last blog entry. I’m always torn about even posting my “lows” because I don’t want to be a downer, but then I remember what a fellow blogger once told me. She said blogging during the tough times is very important, because its great to look back at those posts and see how far we’ve come.

As I was sitting in my reclined chair, snugged up under the blanket with my “Lyme juice” slowly dripping down the IV, IT happened  . . . . I was recognized! We had a new patient join the Cherry Hill Clinic family and while she was getting her first treatment, Dr. Molly was talking with her son. She walked him back to the treatment area to meet up with his mom and he walks past me and says, “You’re the girl from the blog!” I was very excited to have my 15 minutes of fame – but more importantly, it reassured me that I had to continue to write this blog – even during those down times.

As I was driving home today, there were signs all over the highway, warning of an accident ahead. Two lanes were closed and there was a 20 minute delay. For some reason, I decided to stay on the highway, instead of getting off and taking back roads. As the cars in front of me started to slow down, I looked up and noticed how beautiful the sky looked. The way the sun rays broke through the clouds that expanded across the highway, it reminded me that no matter how dark and dreary our bad days may seem, that God is always with us. He always leads us out of the dark. All we have to do is look up.

20151013_172919

Tonight as I slowly made my way home, instead of complaining about being stuck in traffic, I decided to savor the moment and take in the beauty around me. It was a very stressful day and the serene picture in the sky was definitely helping to me de-stress. The sun slowly made it’s way out of the clouds and broke through completely. After a few minutes, the light got brighter and brighter and it started to bother me. Eventually, I had to lower my sun visor to block the sun from my eyes. Don’t we do that with God sometimes? When things start to get too hard, we block Him out of our lives. When the light started to get too intense for me, I took the easy way out and just blocked it out. God gives us free will – to make our own decisions in life. But that doesn’t mean that we should always take the easy way out. Maybe sometimes He allows these difficult circumstances to see how we’ll respond. Will we take the short cut and dodge all the traffic, or will we stick out the rough times and see the beauty – even in the darkness?

If there are dark, dreary clouds in your sky today, remember that even sunshine burns if you get too much. Don’t go through your storm alone.  All you have to do is look up. He’s always there.

Leave a Reply

