FIGHT LYME LIKE A GIRL!

FIGHT LIKE A GIRL has kind of been my mantra since being diagnosed with Lyme Disease. My plan is not only to fight this disease, but to beat it and get back to teaching my favorite group exercise class GROUP FIGHT!

fight cropped

Sixty minutes of jabs, crosses, hooks, uppercuts, roundhouse kicks and jumping knees – there seriously is no better therapy for me! Today a co-worker personally invited me to her Group Fight class and I knew it would be good for me.

I laced up my shoes (technically didn’t lace them . . . they’re velcro) and marched right to the front of the class. I was going to do this. It might not be pretty. My technique might be a bit off. I may not be able to give 100% the entire hour – but I was going to FIGHT like a girl! And guess what? I loved every minute of it.

A few minutes into the warm up when we started doing rhythm punches and front knees, I knew I was in my element. By the first Muay Thai sequence, I was home! And Dorothy said it best, “There’s no place like home.”

With a smile on my face, I was grunting and groaning and I threw my punches as hard as I could. I will admit more than once I’ve visualized the Child Study Team members on the opposite side of me during a Group Fight class . . . but today I wasn’t fighting anyone in particular . . .just stress.

After the cool down, I walked away with sweat dripping down my back, blisters already forming on my big toes (again the stupid velcro shoes), knowing that in just a few short hours my body would be aching from head to toe. But I didn’t regret it for a second. In fact, I can’t wait for my next FIGHT. I will continue to FIGHT LIKE A GIRL!

Thank you Dr. Molly and the Cherry Hill Clinic for getting me healthy enough to fight this nasty disease and thank you Kelly, Group Fight Instructor at Cherry Hill Health & Racquet Club for getting me back in my favorite fighting ring today!

Leave a Reply

