Getting out of the Lyme pit!

Slime_Mutant

I had a great week. I ate well, got in several workouts – even an incredible spin class! In fact, my week went so well, I actually considered cancelling my appointment at the amazing Cherry Hill Clinic. But, I figured giving your immune system a boost is never a bad thing.

I actually felt guilty walking into the clinic; like I shouldn’t be here anymore. I walked in, saw my name on my IV bag and a rubber glove, filled with warm water waiting for me. My veins have not been cooperating lately, so the caring nurse (Lovely Linda) always warms up my veins with a home-made heating pad 🙂 I had to smile when I saw this. It’s little things like this that make me feel at home at the clinic.

Once we got my IV started, Nurse Linda mentioned that Dr. Molly added something new to my Lyme Juice –Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM), an all-natural, anti-inflammatory. It was music to my ears. Since losing the fight to that tick three years ago, I’m now inflamed from head to toe! The amount of symptoms that I suffer from has DECREASED dramatically over the past few months, but one of the few lingering symptoms still bugging me (haaa… bug – that’s funny!) has been my newly acquired asthma.So, the only downfall to having enough energy to work-out (if you can EVER complain about that) is the wheezing afterwards.

So, I was excited to see how I would feel after this particular treatment. I finished my Lyme Juice and headed into work. I immediately felt the benefits. My mind was clear. I was super productive and then during my lunch break, I grabbed my work-out buddy Colleen and we got started. An hour later, my legs were jello, I was dripping with sweat, but to my surprise, I was breathing just fine! No wheezing! There really is a first time for everything!

I started this journey with a laundry list of symptoms, no diagnosis and not much hope. In just a few short years, my life has completely turned around. For the first time in my life, I wake up early and start my day off in the Word. Before tackling breakfast, tangled hair and missing socks – I quiet my heart and spend a few moments with the Lord. For years, I tried to convince myself to do this, but I always chose 30 extra minutes of sleep over the Lord. I’m embarrassed to even admit it, but it’s the truth.

Psalm 40

I waited patiently for the Lord;
    he turned to me and heard my cry.
He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
    out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock
    and gave me a firm place to stand.
He put a new song in my mouth,
    a hymn of praise to our God.

No matter what time of slimy pit you’re in right now – depression, drugs, Lyme disease – cry out to the Lord. He will hear you. He will lift you out of your pit, just like he has lifted me from mine!

2 thoughts on “Getting out of the Lyme pit!

Leave a Reply

